Skip Navigation Links
  The Constitution of India
  System Of Governance
  System of Governance

To run the country, the constitution provides for three branches of government...

To run the country, the constitution provides for three branches of government — legislature, executive and judiciary.

Those who execute or implement laws made by legislature are part of the Executive. The President, the Prime Minister, the Cabinet form the Executive branch of government.

The Cabinet
The cabinet decides the major issues and policy, but most of the execution part is left to the minister concerned. The minister in charge formulates policies and decides certain guidelines. The rest is left to the civil servants. This body of civil servants executes the laws at the public level. They are not members of any political party. They are expected to be impartial in terms of the implementation of a policy or a law.

State Executive
India is a vast country. Governing a country like ours from a single central place may be difficult. The Centre cannot possibly know the various problems faced by the people of different states. Therefore, in our country, the centre looks after the problems or issues that are of national importance. The respective States Governments look after the rest.

State laws are formulated by the State legislature. The State Executive executes these laws in the different states. The State Executive is composed of the Governor, Chief Minister, his council of ministers and those who are in the civil services at the State level.
Copyright © 2007 TARAhaat     War on Corruption    Enquiry | Disclaimer | Contact Us | Partners