Skip Navigation Links
  The Constitution of India
  System Of Governance

The body that legislates or makes laws is called the Legislature. In India...


Parliament: The body that legislates or makes laws is called the Legislature. In India, we call it Parliament. It has two houses, the Lok Sabha and the Rajya Sabha. They make laws for the whole country.

Functions:  Parliament is the supreme law making body in the country and performs certain vital functions. Firstly, it makes laws on a variety of subjects. Second, it controls the income and expenditure of the Government. Third, it exercises control over the ministers through various means such as questions. Fourth, the members of Parliament express their views on various public issues. In this way, they bring to the notice of the government many grievances of the people.

The budget is approved by Parliament. Without Parliament’s sanction, the Government can neither impose any taxes nor spend any amount. Thus, Parliament keeps a control on the income and expenditure of the Government.

The most important function of Parliament is to exercise control over the ministers and their work. The Prime Minister and his ministers are responsible to Parliament for their work. The Lok Sabha can remove them by passing a no-confidence motion against them.

Laws are made in our country at the Union as well as at the State level. Our Constitution has given separate lists of subjects on which the Government can make laws. There are 97 subjects under the Union list. The Parliament of India alone can pass laws on these subjects. Important subjects under the Union list are defence, railway, currency etc.

There are 66 subjects on which state governments can make laws. The important ones are agriculture, health, forests, irrigation, electricity etc.

Besides these, there are 47 subjects on which both Parliament and the State legislature have the power to make laws.

Copyright © 2007 TARAhaat     War on Corruption    Enquiry | Disclaimer | Contact Us | Partners